Golden Globe Nominations: Television!

460x300_goldenglobes

It’s early. I just finished my last final of the semester, which is a good reason to be excited. But I’m happy and excited today because of something that actually affects me in no way, shape, or form. The Golden Globe nominations were announced this morning, and as I was putting on make-up and fixing my hair, I kept refreshing my Twitter feed to see the nominations. As always, the Golden Globes are shocking this year. However, they’re surprising in a few really good ways this time! They are shaking things up!

Even though I still love Homeland a lot, I was not at all surprised to see it missing from the nomination list. If anything, I was mostly surprised to not see Claire Danes in the Best Actress category. I take comfort in the fact, though, that she has four Globes and three Emmys sitting in her home right now. (Plus, she was still nominated for the SAG Awards which means we’ll get the Claire Danes/Jared Leto reunion everyone wanted this year.) I was surprised, but slightly happy, to see Mad Men missing. I have a lot of thoughts about that show, and I feel slightly validated now that it has been snubbed by both the Screen Actors Guild and the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. I do enjoy Mad Men, but season six was exhausting to watch.

I was extremely excited to see Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation, Michael Sheen, and Masters of Sex get some much deserved love. Since the Globes gave Steve Carell his award for Michael Scott, I’m hoping they’ll do the same with Poehler. It’s not fair that she keeps getting ignored. And with Masters of Sex, I hope this just a sign of many good things in the future. A nomination for Lizzy Caplan is the only thing really missing here.

However, the happiest moment for me came when I saw the nominees for Best Supporting Actress in a Television Series. I immediately texted both my best friend and my mother to celebrate, and I may or may not have started crying. (Spoiler alert: I did.)

So, here are my thoughts and picks on each category of television, including what made me so damn happy about that Supporting Actress category.

Happy Awards Season!

Best Drama Series:

  • Breaking Bad
  • Downton Abbey
  • The Good Wife
  • House of Cards
  • Masters of Sex

My Pick: It’s not even a contest in my mind. I don’t watch The Good Wife, though I really want to after the buzz about this season. I tried both Downton Abbey and House of Cards and didn’t love either (though my preference goes to DA). I do love Masters of Sex. It’s been a surprising and high-quality show since the pilot premiered on September 29. However, the award has to go to Breaking Bad, right? I don’t think there has ever been a more flawless or stressful show on television. With its intricate plot, amazing cinematography, brilliant performances, and smart directing, nothing on this list comes close to Breaking Bad. I hope that Masters of Sex will continue to get better and better. In due time, it can get its awards. However, let’s just all agree to give Breaking Bad everything for its final season.

Best Actor- Drama Series:

  • Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
  • Liev Schreiber, Ray Donovan
  • Michael Sheen, Masters of Sex
  • Kevin Spacey, House of Cards
  • James Spader, The Blacklist

My Pick: Okay, I know I just said we should give Breaking Bad everything. However, Bryan Cranston has won three Emmys before. He’s never won a Globe, but he’s been recognized a lot for his performance of Walter White. So, in this category, I’m torn between Cranston and Michael Sheen. Cranston has gotten better and better with the show, and he made me feel absolute rage that I didn’t know I was quite capable of. Sheen, on the other hand, gives a very subtle but heartbreaking performance as Dr. William Masters. It might be interesting if he wins here. It will change things up a bit, but I will also completely agree with the HFPA if Cranston takes it home.

Best Actress- Drama Series:

  • Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
  • Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
  • Taylor Schilling, Orange Is the New Black
  • Kerry Washington, Scandal
  • Robin Wright, House of Cards

My Pick: WOAH. What a weird category. First, I love Claire. And Vera Farmiga of Bates Motel. Neither one is on this list, which makes me sad. Second, my roommate and I tried Orphan Black and were bored. We stopped after two episodes. Third, I love Taylor Shilling and Orange is the New Black. It was my favorite new show of the year, but I still think it should be in the comedy categories. So, I’m going to go with Kerry Washington for Scandal. Olivia Pope is simply the best, and in a category like this, she has to be the winner for her phenomenal performance. The show could easily be seen as a primetime soap opera, but it never feels that way largely because of Washington and the supporting cast, who are sadly always forgotten.

Best Comedy Series:

  • The Big Bang Theory
  • Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • Girls
  • Modern Family
  • Parks and Recreation

My Pick: Parks and Recreation! Parks and Recreation! Parks and Recreation! No contest. No further comment.

Best Actor- Comedy Series:

  • Jason Bateman, Arrested Development
  • Don Cheadle, House of Lies
  • Michael J. Fox, The Michael J. Fox Show
  • Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
  • Andy Samberg, Brooklyn Nine-Nine

My Pick: I honestly do not know. I don’t watch House of Lies, The Michael J. Fox Show, or The Big Bang Theory. Arrested Development was disappointing this year, and as much as I love Bateman, I’m not feeling the nomination here. So, I guess I’ll go with Andy Samberg. He’s goofy, hilarious, and heartwarming on Brooklyn Nine-Nine, and I think it would be kind of fun if he won. I’m disappointed Matt LeBlanc is missing. Even though I don’t watch Episodes (yet), I cried when he won a few years ago. It would have been nice to see it happen again.

Best Actress- Comedy Series:

  • Zooey Deschanel, New Girl
  • Lena Dunham, Girls
  • Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
  • Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

My Pick: Amy Poehler. Again, this is no question for me. As I said above, she deserves it.

Best Supporting Actor- Television Series, Miniseries, or TV Movie:

  • Josh Charles, The Good Wife
  • Rob Lowe, Behind the Candelabra
  • Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad
  • Corey Stoll, House of Cards
  • Jon Voight, Ray Donovan

My Pick: Aaron Paul. I think it’s weird and unfair that the Globes combine Supporting Actor for all of television. It puts unequal and very different programs against each other and leaves a number of people out of the running. Paul, though, is definitely my favorite on this list. My love for Jesse Pinkman knows no bounds. When I talk about Breaking Bad, 90% of my time is spent talking about how much I want to take care of Jesse. He breaks my heart. Aaron Paul deserves it.

Best Supporting Actress- Television Series, Miniseries, or TV Movie:

  • Jacqueline Bisset, Dancing on the Edge
  • Janet McTeer, The White Queen
  • Hayden Panettiere, Nashville
  • Monica Potter, Parenthood
  • Sofia Vergara, Modern Family

My Pick: THIS IS THE ONE. This category actually made me tear up this morning. It was the happiest surprise to see Monica Potter’s name on that list. I don’t know how many times I can say “I love Parenthood!” but I’m going to say it again. I LOVE PARENTHOODParenthood has been overlooked by every major awards show since the beginning. (It’s most surprising to me that the SAG Awards forget about it every year, since it is the most ensemble-y of all the ensemble shows, but I digress.) This is a much-deserved nomination for Potter, who took a character that could have been so one-dimensional and made her incredibly human. I would absolutely burst into tears if Potter wins, and I really hope she does. I don’t know anything about Bisset’s and McTeer’s performances in those miniseries, but Potter seems to be the strongest on the list.

Leave a Reply

