Theatre

Thoughts on the Tony Awards!

  1. Neil Patrick Harris is actually perfect. Seriously, what are his flaws? I love watching him host the Tony Awards each year because he somehow manages to keep everything fresh. He improves each year. It’s crazy. That opening number will be hard to top next year, but I have complete faith that he can top it because he’s NPH. I’m excited to see what he does at the Emmys this year.
  2. Courtney B. Vance absolutely deserved that Tony for Best Featured Actor in a Play. I am so happy for him!
  3. I am seeing Matilda the Musical on June 23rd, and after that performance, I am even more excited! The set, the kids, everything. It looks wonderful.
  4. Laura Osnes is an actual princess, right? Because wow. She is so talented and beautiful.
  5. I haven’t seen Pippin yet, but I am so glad Diane Paulus won for Best Direction of a Musical! I have seen her revivals of Hair and Porgy & Bess on Broadway and can say without a doubt that Pippin will be great. Her direction is so creative and innovative. She’s fearless. I know this won’t be her last award, but I’m glad she finally has her first! Future theatre kids will study her work in school.
  6. I need Jesse Tyler Ferguson to always scream “Girl, you gonna have fun tonight!” That was fabulous. And so is Cyndi Lauper.
  7. I haven’t seen Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike yet, but once again, I was disappointed with Best Play. Last year, it should have gone to Peter and the Starcatcher and this year, Lucky Guy knocked it out of the park. I’m actually surprised it didn’t win with Nora Ephron’s script, but I have officially added Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike to my list for the summer.
  8. The performance of Pippin later in the evening only further reiterated what I said in number 5. If that wasn’t amazing to you, you weren’t watching the Tony Awards.
  9. Billy Porter! Billy Porter! Billy Porter! Everyone at the Tony Awards was so happy for him, and I am too. I can’t wait to see him in Kinky Boots. Their performance was amazing and insane!
  10. I’m really surprised Tom Hanks didn’t win. But this was his Broadway debut (shocking, right?!) and I hope he returns to the stage soon. He was absolutely amazing. That isn’t really a big surprise, though.
  11. Patina Miller is a princess too. She and Laura can be princesses together.
  12. Before this night began, I really thought Matilda was going to take it home but Kinky Boots seems like a really inventive and fun show. I’m now not at all surprised it won. I just need to fight some people for some tickets.
  13. I love the Broadway community, and I feel very lucky that I get to be involved as a fan. These shows are so close to me this summer, and I plan on taking full advantage.
One thought on “Thoughts on the Tony Awards!

Leave a Reply

